问题的答案出现或消失

软骨常见问题

1. 什么是肋软骨耳手术?

肋软骨中耳手术 治疗小耳畸形是一种外科技术,它使用了一个孩子的肋骨软骨的结构框架耳朵, 下的头皮皮肤,然后放置在一个口袋.

2. 肋软骨耳再造多久了大约?

肋骨移植用于耳再造 1920, 当医生. 哈罗德·吉利斯从一个人的去除肋骨,并用它来创建一个小耳畸形患者的耳中. 虽然这种技术最终失败, 它是根据博士. 莱福Tanzer的工作 1959, 当他用病人自己的肋骨,耳再造. 博士. Tanzer的开创性工作,形成了今天的技术基础肋软骨耳手术.

3. 为什么要使用肋软骨Medpor?

肋软骨中耳手术的最大优点之一是,手术使用人体自身的组织结构框架. 虽然耳朵和肋两者都是由软骨, 如果你觉得你的耳朵,然后你的胸腔, 你会发现,他们彼此不承担很多相似之处. 耳软骨是微妙的和可弯曲, 以及专门设计的漏斗声波进入耳道. 肋软骨厚和坚定的, 它的目的是保护肺部免受伤害. 从而, 他们是不等价的材料,但, 当成功, 一个肋软骨耳要持续一生.

点击这里直接比较Medpor和肋软骨耳手术.

4. 如何软骨耳?

三至四次从胸壁和肋骨软骨用来雕刻耳框架. 耳朵是建立在层,使其3 - 维. 框架,然后放置在头皮下的几个手术. 不同Medpor, 没有外国的材料被用作. 但, 因为软骨是没有那么强,因为Medpor, 薄的框架,可有限制,但仍保持强劲. 为此, 比Medpor耳软骨耳朵可能会出现较厚的.

6. 多少肋软骨耳手术是必要的?

三至 4 手术是创建一个耳朵 (根据手术技术) 当孩子已经足够大了的程序 (6 或 7 岁). 在永田技术, 2 surgeries are p岁/span>, 但为了获得更好的投影, 孩子必须至少 10 years old. 如果病人有双侧小耳畸形, 4 对 6 手术是必需的. 在所有的软骨技术, 第一次手术需要住院治疗,由于疼痛所造成的去除肋骨., 但为了获得更好的投影, 孩子必须至少 10 岁. 如果病人有双侧小耳畸形, 4 对 6 手术是必需的. 在所有的软骨技术, 第一次手术需要住院治疗,由于疼痛所造成的去除肋骨.

7. 多少痛苦将我的孩子体验?

每个孩子都是独特疼痛的感知,但, 一般来说, 有显着更多的痛苦比在胸壁切口在新的耳朵. 在所有的软骨技术, 第一次手术需要 1-3 日住院治疗,由于疼痛造成的去除肋骨. 患者接受静脉止痛药物 (吗啡) 直到疼痛控制药物可以采取经口 (泰诺与可待因). 肋骨也被放置在切口内用止痛泵治疗几天. 该泵缓缓流下麻药进入该地区.

8. 为什么不能有一个3岁的肋软骨耳再造?

据我们所知,, 从未执行过上一个3岁,因为儿童没有足够的耳软骨重建,直到他们至少肋软骨耳手术 6 岁. 如果孩子小或正常耳大, 手术可能要延迟 1 或更多年.

10. 长耳前愈合?

手术后早期, 软骨耳肿. 保护耳杯具了 3 周. 耳愈合良好 3 个月后手术, 当 2ND 执行阶段.

11. 会发生什么事过一辈子的肋部软骨耳?

如果成功的话, 肋软骨耳手术应持续一生.

12. 有什么限制我的孩子在运动?

有耳再造不应该限制您的孩子从追求她或他喜欢. 你的孩子可能回到正常活动 6 在手术后两周. 这包括所有的运动. 其特定的运动,儿童应始终穿戴适当的防护设备 (头盔,棒球, 足球和曲棍球). 许多患者软骨耳再造已经发挥竞技体育.

13. 软骨的耳朵是否有感觉,像一个正常的耳朵愈合?

患者感觉在新的耳朵的皮肤覆盖在肋骨框架. 决不会是相当的作为一个正常的耳相同的感觉, 但.

皮肤像正常的皮肤覆盖的软骨框架, 让典型的颠簸, 割伤和瘀伤,我们都得到医治. 但, 如果一个强大的直接力打软骨耳, 可能是有一定伤害的重建.

14. 肋软骨耳被人体吸收?

是, 如果有一个与手术并发症的皮肤覆盖软骨不生存, 或者如果是一个显着的感染, 软骨框架“融化”。如果没有这样的并发症, 随着时间的推移,软骨耳框架应保持稳定.

15. 如果肋软骨耳是无法修复的损坏, 重建?

是. 如果发生这种情况, 一个Medpor耳手术可以挽救失败的肋软骨耳手术. 许多患者有过成功的结果与Medpor耳再造一个“重做”.

16. 如何将的肋软骨耳朵是不同的比我孩子的正常耳?

任何手术耳再造一个“正常”的耳朵可以不看,自然. 最显着的区别是,Medpor和软骨耳重组可以弯曲的自然耳, 因为框架需要有强大的抵抗力量,瘢痕形成.

Click on a question to make the answer appear or disappear

Cartilage FAQ

1. What is Rib Cartilage Ear Surgery?

Rib Cartilage Ear Surgery is a surgical technique to treat Microtia that uses a child’s rib cartilages to make a structural framework of an ear, which is then placed in a pocket under the scalp skin.

2. How long has Rib Cartilage Ear Reconstruction been around?

Rib graft was first used for ear reconstruction in 1920, when Dr. Harold Gillies removed rib from one person and used it to create an ear in a Microtia patient. Although this technique ultimately failed, it was the basis for Dr. Radford Tanzer’s work in 1959, when he used a patient’s own ribs for ear reconstruction. Dr. Tanzer’s pioneering work formed the foundation of today’s techniques in Rib Cartilage Ear Surgery.

3. Why use Rib Cartilage over Medpor?

One of the biggest advantages of Rib Cartilage Ear Surgery is that the surgery uses the body’s own tissue for the structural framework. Although ears and ribs are both made from cartilage, if you feel your ear and then your ribcage, you’ll notice that they do not bear much resemblance to each other. Ear cartilage is delicate and bendable, and specially designed to funnel sound waves into the ear canal. Rib cartilage is thick and firm, as it is designed to protect the lungs from injury. Thus, they are not equivalent materials but, when successful, a Rib Cartilage Ear should last a lifetime.

Click here for a direct Comparison of Medpor and Rib Cartilage Ear Surgery.

4. How is the Cartilage Ear Made?

Three to four rib cartilages are removed from the chest wall and used to carve an ear framework. The ear is built up in layers to make it 3-dimensional. The framework is then placed under the scalp in the first of several surgeries. Unlike Medpor, no foreign material is used. However, since cartilage is not as strong as Medpor, there are limits to how thin the framework can be made and still remain strong. For this reason, cartilage ears may appear thicker than Medpor ears.

6. How many Rib Cartilage Ear Surgeries are needed?

Three to 4 surgeries are performed to create an ear (depending on surgical technique) when the child is old enough to have the procedure (6 or 7 years old). In the Nagata technique, 2 surgeries are performed, but in order to gain improved projection, the child must be at least 10 years old. If a patient has bilateral Microtia, 4 to 6 surgeries are required. In all cartilage techniques, the first surgery requires inpatient hospitalization due to the pain caused by removing the ribs.

7. How much pain will my child experience?

Each child is unique in terms of pain perception but, generally speaking, there is significantly more pain at the chest wall incision than at the new ear. In all cartilage techniques, the first surgery requires a 1-3 day inpatient hospitalization due to the pain caused by removing the ribs. Patients receive IV pain medications (Morphine) until the pain is controlled on medicines you can take by mouth (Tylenol with Codeine). The ribcage is also treated for several days with a pain pump placed within the incision. This pump slowly drips numbing medicine into the area.

8. Why can’t a three-year-old have Rib Cartilage Ear Reconstruction?

To our knowledge, Rib Cartilage ear surgery has never been performed on a 3-year-old because children do not have enough cartilage for ear reconstruction until they are at least 6 years old. If the child is small or the normal ear is large, the surgery may have to be delayed 1 or more years.

10. How long before the ear heals?

Early after surgery, the cartilage ear is swollen. The ear is protected with a cup for 3 weeks. The ear is well healed by 3 months after surgery, when the 2nd stage is performed.

11. What happens to a rib cartilage ear over a lifetime?

If successful, Rib Cartilage Ear Surgery should last a lifetime.

12. What are the limitations for my child in sports?

Having an ear reconstruction should not limit your child from pursuing the activities she or he enjoys. Your child may go back to normal activities 6 weeks after surgery. This includes all sports. Children should always wear appropriate protective equipment for their particular sport (helmets for baseball, football and hockey). Many patients with Cartilage Ear Reconstruction have gone on to play competitive sports.

13. Does a cartilage ear have sensation and heal like a normal ear?

Patients have sensation in the new ear from the skin that overlies the rib framework. The sensation will never be quite the same as a normal ear, however.

The skin covering the cartilage framework works like normal skin, allowing the typical bumps, cuts and bruises we all get to heal. However, if a strong direct force hits a cartilage ear, there certainly could be injury to the reconstruction.

14. Can the Rib Cartilage ear be absorbed by the body?

Yes, if there is a complication with the surgery and the skin overlying the cartilage does not survive, or if there is a significant infection, the cartilage framework can “melt away.” If there are no such complications, the cartilage ear framework should remain stable over time.

15. If a Rib Cartilage ear is damaged beyond repair, can it be reconstructed?

Yes. If this occurs, a Medpor ear surgery may be performed to salvage a failed Rib Cartilage ear surgery. Many patients have had successful outcomes with a “redo” Medpor ear reconstruction.

16. How will a Rib Cartilage ear be different than my child’s normal ear?

Any surgical ear reconstruction cannot look as natural as a “normal” ear. The most notable difference is that both Medpor and Cartilage ear reconstructions cannot bend the way a natural ear does, since the framework needs to be strong to resist the forces of scar formation.