外耳道闭锁的治疗选择。


1. 骨传导听觉处理器

骨传导装置是一个持久的治疗方案,以纠正听力损失患者单侧或双侧闭锁. 这些设备通常被称为由缩写 BAHA, 的意思是“骨锚式助听器。”BAHA是挂靠在婴儿和儿童用柔软的头带, 并可以通过外科手术植入的儿童,一旦他们达到 5 岁. 手术主要是安排的钛基台或入颅磁板. 一旦愈合, 外部音响处理器被连接到抵接或磁性板. 振动头骨,直接刺激内耳的声音处理器 (听觉) 神经. 这使得儿童外耳道闭锁听, 作为它绕过外耳和中耳的解剖学异常.

I have recently developed a scarless technique for placing the titanium implant for the Bone Anchored Auditory Processors during the 1st stage Medpor ear reconstruction surgery. 目前, this technique can be performed with both the Cochlear Baha (including the Attract magnet under the skin) and the Oticon Medical Ponto products. This provides my Microtia and Atresia patients the ability to hear directly through bone conduction and is an excellent alternative to those that cannot have or choose not to have atresia repair.

Bone Anchored Hearing Aid


三家公司目前生产的骨传导听觉处理器:

cochlear sophono oticon medical

所有这三个器件可被植入到颅骨上的软质头带或磨损. 耳蜗奥迪康模型的基台稍微突出,从用于连接到所述处理器的头皮, ,而Sophono模型使用一个嵌入式的磁性板刷新到的声音处理器,被耦合到的板的颅骨.

新生婴儿可以穿softband BAHA, 但 surgery to implant the Bone Conduction Auditory Processor should not be performed BEFORE the Medpor ear surgery.

点击这里阅读一个BAHA设备比较性审查。

请点击这里了解醒目提示穿着BAHA

2. 闭锁修复手术 (Canalplasty)

在儿童恢复听力单侧或双侧闭锁,闭锁的修复是一个复杂的外科手术. 闭锁修复的目标是建立一个健康的皮肤成荫的耳道有一个耳鼓 (鼓膜) 和中耳骨 (听小骨) 将允许进行声波到内耳. 约 50% 孤立先天性小耳畸形的孩子出生是canalplasty的候选人. 但, 这个百分比在儿童与相关联的条件,例如是低级 “特雷彻柯林斯综合征” 或面肌矮身材.

为canalplasty的考生必须具备以下:

  • 一个发挥作用的耳蜗, 将声音的振动转换成神经冲动的内耳的一部分发送到大脑 (由听力)
  • 中耳足够的发展空间,让耳骨振动
  • 良好的面部神经解剖

如果你的孩子是一个很好的候选人闭锁修复,听力加上高分辨率CT扫描确定. 扫描是使用基于耳朵的解剖结构的一系列参数计算. “ Jahrsdoerfer 规模最常用的得分CT. 使用之间的比例 1 和 10, 如果你的孩子的CT扫描评分一 7, 8, 或 9 出 10, 你的孩子预计将有一个 70%, 80% 或 90% 达到正常或接近正常听力的机会, 分别, 闭锁修复手术后. 儿童分数 6 以下闭锁修复手术一般不推荐. 一旦你的孩子至少3岁的中耳骨骼结构,以便有足够的发展,可以做CT扫描.

重要的是要明白,与MEDPOR手术技术, 首先闭锁修复完成, 但与肋骨软骨技术, 闭锁修复完成后耳再造.

返回顶部

Treatment Options for Aural Atresia


1. Bone Conduction Auditory Processors

Bone conduction devices are a durable treatment option to correct hearing loss in patients with unilateral or bilateral atresia. These devices are commonly referred to by the acronym BAHA, which stands for “bone anchored hearing aid.” The BAHA is anchored on babies and young children with a soft headband, and can be surgically implanted in children once they reach 5 years of age. Surgery involves placement of a titanium abutment or magnetic plate into the skull. Once healed, an external sound processor is connected to the abutment or magnetic plate. The sound processor vibrates the skull to directly stimulate the inner ear (auditory) nerve. This allows children with aural atresia to hear, as it bypasses the anatomic abnormalities of the outer and middle ear.

I have recently developed a scarless technique for placing the titanium implant for the Bone Anchored Auditory Processors during the 1st stage Medpor ear reconstruction surgery. Currently, this technique can be performed with both the Cochlear Baha (including the Attract magnet under the skin) and the Oticon Medical Ponto products. This provides my Microtia and Atresia patients the ability to hear directly through bone conduction and is an excellent alternative to those that cannot have or choose not to have atresia repair.

Bone Anchored Hearing Aid


Three companies currently manufacture bone conduction auditory processors:

cochlear sophono oticon medical

All three devices can be implanted into the skull or worn on a soft headband. The abutments for the Cochlear and Oticon models protrude slightly out from the scalp for attachment to the processor, while the Sophono model uses an embedded magnetic plate flush to the skull that is coupled to the plate of the sound processor.

A newborn baby can wear the softband BAHA, but the surgery to implant the Bone Conduction Auditory Processor should not be performed BEFORE  the Medpor ear surgery.

Click here to read a Comparative Review of BAHA devices

Click here to learn Helpful Tips for wearing a BAHA

2. Atresia Repair surgery (Canalplasty)

Atresia Repair is a complex surgical procedure to restore hearing in children with unilateral or bilateral atresia. The objective of atresia repair is to create a healthy skin-lined ear canal with an eardrum (tympanic membrane) and middle ear bones (ossicles) that will allow sound waves to be conducted to the inner ear. Approximately 50% of children born with isolated microtia are candidates for canalplasty. However, this percentage is lower in children with associated conditions such as “Treacher Collins Syndrome” or Hemifacial Microsomia.

Candidates for canalplasty must have the following:

  • A functioning cochlea, the part of the inner ear which converts sound vibrations into nerve impulses sent to the brain (determined by audiogram)
  • Adequate development of the middle ear space to allow the ear bones to vibrate
  • Favorable facial nerve anatomy

An audiogram plus a high resolution CT scan will determine if your child is a good candidate for atresia repair. The scan is evaluated using a series of parameters based on the anatomy of the ear.  The Jahrsdoerfer scale is most commonly used to score the CT. Using a scale between 1 and 10, if your child’s CT scan scores a 7, 8, or 9 out of 10, your child is predicted to have a 70%, 80% or 90% chance of achieving normal or near normal hearing, respectively, after atresia repair surgery. Children with scores of 6 and below are generally not recommended for atresia repair surgery. The CT scan can be done once your child is at least three years of age to allow sufficient development of the middle ear bone structures.

It is important to understand that with the Medpor technique of surgery, the atresia repair is done FIRST, but with the Rib Cartilage technique, the atresia repair is done AFTER the ear reconstruction.

Back to Top