如果你正在考虑为您的孩子MEDPOR耳再造, 小耳畸形患儿的父母,你会听到或读到的各种意见, 以及治疗小耳畸形患者的外科医生谁的网站上. 这很容易变得混乱! 下面是一些常见的误区,以帮助您了解MEDPOR耳重建过程.

Click on a myth to make the answer appear/disappear

MEDPOR神话常见问题

神话: 该机构将“拒绝”MEDPOR,因为它是一个外国植入.

事实: MEDPOR耳植入物是由一种合成材料 (多孔聚乙烯) 被设计为允许人体的组织长入植入物的微小孔隙,. 所以, 即使它是异物, 人体的组织融入MEDPOR,而不是它周围修筑城墙,大多数植入壁关 (像硅胶).

进一步, 身体不能“拒绝”的东西,是不是活组织, 肾移植的方式可以拒绝, 例如.

但, 如果发生覆盖植入物在皮肤上的孔,并MEDPOR成为此暴露, 身体将无法愈合的过孔. MEDPOR“曝光”是罕见的, 但一般被视为初次手术后六个星期内. 将需要手术来解决这个问题.

神话: MEDPOR是一个不安全的材料

事实: 多孔聚乙烯 (Medpor) 实际上已经被认为是极好的耐久性,在体内使用安全的,并已被用于耳再造超过 20 多年无不良影响.

神话: MEDPOR耳手术是一种侵入性手术,导致大面积头皮疤痕和脱发.

事实: MEDPOR耳再造传统需要大面积头皮瘢痕访问称为头皮下的组织 颞筋膜 (TPF) 拍打, 这是用来完全覆盖MEDPOR植入. 当头发被剪得很短,引起了相当大的一块可视面积为瘢痕脱发头皮切口.

但, 在 2006, 博士. 卢因​​开发出一种新, 微创外科技术,收获TPF瓣没有头皮疤痕, 消除可见光脱发的问题,. 从她开始执行此创新技术, 没有博士. Lewin的患者需要头皮切口.

在少数患者, 有可能是小面积的脱发的头皮,可能是暂时或永久. 这是更常见于患者使用了softband BAHA, 把多年来在头皮上的重大压力, 在本质上削弱这种皮肤.

神话: 由于MEDPOR耳是预先制作的植入物, 大小的变化, 孩子的正常耳朵的形状和投影无法比拟.

事实: 该的MEDPOR框架组装从 2 标准件: 螺旋轮辋和不美观的基地. 但, 基地始终广泛修改的形状相匹配的另一耳, 的解剖结构的可自定义的详情, 创建阴影和高光雕刻到植入.

独特的两片式设计也可以让医生. LEWIN控制整体的耳朵的高度和宽度的轮辋的长度通过调整 (短小型或窄的耳朵, 更长的一个或大或宽耳).

最后, 植入物的基础上,对颅骨坐在修改,以符合孩子的解剖结构, 导致对称投影到另一耳. 只需一次手术可以配合投影, 从而消除手术阶段在肋接枝重构所需.

神话: 用于皮肤移植耳再造MEDPOR没有相同的颜色和正常耳的感觉.

事实: 如果可能的话, 小耳残周围的皮肤上使用的TPF瓣覆盖前面的MEDPOR耳再造. 这是确切的,用于覆盖的肋软骨框架和相同的皮肤, 因此, 应该是一个优秀的色彩搭配到对面的耳朵. 如果没有足够的皮肤,以覆盖整个耳前, 从正常的耳朵后面的皮肤以及有时被用来作为.

有些患者没有足够的皮肤周围的小耳残能够覆盖前面的耳朵重建, 无论是否肋软骨或MEDPOR技术用于. 这通常发生在孩子有发际低. 在这种情况下, 非毛发的头皮, 从另一个身体部位的皮肤移植物,必须采取, 这样的色彩搭配会不会像靠近皮肤从耳朵.

手术后的权利, MEDPOR耳用于皮肤移植,没有感觉, 而是由 2 对 3 个月后手术, 的感觉开始形成新耳神经生长到皮肤从TPF瓣下方. 这种情况持续下去,以提高数个月, 保护性感觉新耳. 的MEDPOR耳重构的感觉是不完全一样正常耳.

神话: 由于MEDPOR不与孩子成长, 不能匹配相反的耳朵.

事实: 这是事实,一旦到位, MEDPOR植入物的大小不随时间而改变. 因此, 耳朵是如何生长的解剖学研究被用来预测将得到大孩子的正常耳. 父母的耳朵大小也考虑. 如此, 预测的最终尺寸,MEDPOR耳是由该尺寸的.

某些先天性小耳畸形的外科医生认为,肋软骨耳朵继续增长, 但肯定没有办法预测多少, 或者如果, 这将发生在任何给定的孩子. 事务所肋软骨移植 (最初,有没有血液供应) 从精致的生活耳软骨有很大的不同, 因此有猜测在所有这些重建.

关键是要彼此比较重建和正常耳手术后. 大多数先天性小耳畸形的网站不显示正常耳的意见, 因此,有没有办法告诉类似手术的耳朵是正常侧. 博士. 卢因​​坚信角度相似的两只耳朵应该显示的所有意见,这样的家庭将有一个真实的想法多么接近耳朵匹配. 所有博士. Lewin的小耳畸形患者都显示在所有视图 先天性小耳畸形患者画廊.

神话: Medpor耳敏感的创伤.

重建的耳朵可以直接创伤受伤, 像一个球击中耳部饱满力. 话虽这么说, 创伤,打伤Medpor耳再造是非常罕见的. 皮瓣覆盖耳朵的保护. 病人可有割伤或受伤的往往不只是抗生素软膏治疗或治愈的耳朵. 博士. Lewin的患者减少对金属窗台上,她的Medpor耳再造, 造成一英寸长的切手术后仅三个星期. 清洗和切割,“蝴蝶录音,“治好了自己的一个几乎看不见的疤痕.

一个Medpor植入物破裂, 但, 如果出现这种情况时,它需要被替换为一个简单的外科手术. 早在 2011, 博士. 卢因​​大量修改Medpor耳植入体建设与新技术的植入,大大提高了强度. 由于此设计更改实施, 没有骨折已经出现在她的病人.

If you’re considering Medpor Ear Reconstruction for your child, you’ll hear or read various opinions from parents of children with Microtia, as well as on the websites of surgeons who treat Microtia patients. It’s easy to become confused! Here are some common myths to help you understand the Medpor Ear Reconstruction procedure.

Click on a myth to make the answer appear/disappear

Medpor Myths FAQ

Myth: The body will “reject” the Medpor since it is a foreign implant.

Fact: The Medpor ear implant is made from a synthetic material (porous polyethylene) that is designed to allow the body’s tissue to grow into the tiny pores of the implant. So, even though it is a foreign material, the body’s tissues integrate into the Medpor instead of building a wall around it the way most implants are walled off (like silicone).

Further, the body can’t “reject” something that is not living tissue, the way a kidney transplant can be rejected, for example.

However, if a hole in the skin covering the implant occurred and the Medpor became exposed, the body would be unable to heal over the hole. An “exposure” of the Medpor is uncommon, but generally is seen within six weeks after the initial surgery. A surgery would be required to fix this problem.

Myth: Medpor is an unsafe material

Fact: Porous polyethylene (Medpor) has actually been found to be extremely durable and safe for use in the body and has been used for ear reconstruction for over 20 years without adverse effects.

Myth: Medpor Ear Surgery is an invasive procedure that causes large scalp scars and hair loss.

Fact: Medpor Ear Reconstruction traditionally required a large scalp scar to access the tissue under the scalp called the temporoparietal fascia (TPF) flap, which is used to completely cover the Medpor implant. The scalp incision caused a sizable scar with a visible area of hair loss when the hair was cut very short.

However, in 2006, Dr. Lewin developed a new, minimally invasive surgical technique to harvest the TPF flap with no scalp scars, eliminating the issues of visible hair loss. From the time she began performing this innovative technique, none of Dr. Lewin’s patients have required a scalp incision.

In a minority of patients, there may be small areas of hair loss of the scalp that may be temporary or permanent. This is more commonly seen in patients that have used a softband BAHA, which puts significant pressure on the scalp over years, in essence weakening this skin.

Myth: Since the Medpor ear is a pre-made implant, variations in the size, shape and projection of the child’s normal ear cannot be matched.

Fact: The Medpor framework is assembled from 2 standard pieces: a helical rim and an antihelical base. However, the base is always extensively modified to match the shape of the opposite ear, customizing details of the anatomy, creating shadows and highlights by carving into the implant.

The unique 2-piece design also allows Dr. Lewin to control the overall height and width of the ear by adjusting the length of the rim (shorter for a small or narrow ear, longer for a large or wide ear).

Finally, the base of the implant that sits against the skull is also modified to match the child’s anatomy, resulting in symmetric projection to the opposite ear. The projection can be matched with just one surgery, thus eliminating one of the surgical stages required in a Rib Graft Reconstruction.

Myth: The skin grafts used for Medpor ear reconstruction do not have the same color and sensation as normal ears.

Fact: If possible, the skin around the microtia remnant is used on top of the TPF flap to cover the front of the Medpor ear reconstruction. This is the exact same skin that is used to cover the rib cartilage framework and, therefore, should be an excellent color match to the opposite ear. If there is not enough skin to cover the entire front of the ear, skin from behind the normal ear is sometimes used as well.

Some patients do not have enough skin around the microtia remnant to be able to cover the front of the ear reconstruction, regardless of whether rib cartilage or Medpor techniques are used. This often occurs when a child has a low hairline. In this case, to get non-hair bearing skin, skin grafts must be taken from another area of the body, so the color match will not be as close as skin from the ear.

Right after surgery, the skin grafts used for the Medpor ear do not have sensation, but by 2 to 3 months after surgery, sensation starts to form on the new ear as nerves grow into the skin from the TPF flap underneath. This continues to improve for several more months, giving protective sensation to the new ear. The sensation of the Medpor ear reconstruction is not exactly the same as the normal ear.

Myth: Since Medpor does not grow with the child, it cannot match the opposite ear.

Fact: It is true that once in place, the size of the Medpor implant does not change over time. Therefore, anatomic studies of how the ear grows are used to predict how large a child’s normal ear will get. The sizes of the parents’ ears are also taken into consideration. In this way, the final size is predicted and the Medpor ear is made to be that size.

Some microtia surgeons believe that rib cartilage ears continue to grow, but there is certainly no way to predict how much, or if, this will occur in any given child. Firm rib cartilage graft (that has no blood supply initially) is very different from delicate living ear cartilage, thus there is guesswork in all of these reconstructions.

It is critical to compare the reconstructed and normal ears to each other after surgery. Most microtia websites do not show views of the normal ear, thus there is no way to tell how similar the surgical ear is to the normal side. Dr. Lewin firmly believes all views of both ears at similar angles should be shown so families will have a realistic idea of how close the ears match. All of Dr. Lewin’s microtia patients have all views displayed in the Microtia Patient Gallery.

Myth: The Medpor Ear is sensitive to trauma.

Any reconstructed ear can be injured by direct trauma, like a ball hitting the ear full force. That being said, trauma that injures a Medpor ear reconstruction is very rare. The flap that covers the ear is protective. Patients can have cuts or injuries to the ear that tend to heal without treatment or with just antibiotic ointment. One of Dr. Lewin’s patients fell against a metal ledge onto her Medpor ear reconstruction, causing a one inch long cut only three weeks after surgery. The cut was cleaned and “butterfly-taped,” and healed on its own with a barely visible scar.

A Medpor implant can fracture, however, and if that occurs it needs to be replaced with a simple surgical procedure. In early 2011, Dr. Lewin extensively modified the Medpor ear implant construction with a new technique to greatly increase the strength of the implant. Since this design change was implemented, no fractures have been seen in her patients.