先天性小耳畸形: 这是什么?

小耳畸形是一种先天性的条件,其中的耳朵不能正常发育. 字小耳畸形的“小耳朵”。

Children with Microtia


不同类型的小耳畸形是什么?

小耳畸形发生在许多不同的变化, 取值范围从只是一个小耳朵完全没有的耳朵, called anotia meaning “no ear.” In some cases, 耳道是非常小的 (外耳道狭窄) 或缺席 (外耳道闭锁).

系统已被开发,以描述不同类型的小耳. 其中最常见的使用的系统进行分类,这些不同的“等级”的是,如下所示:

Grades of Microtia

如何常见的是小耳畸形?

小耳畸形,就会发生一次每 6,000 对 12,000 出生, 具有较高的频率在西班牙裔, 亚洲人, 土著美国人, 和Andeans.

是什么原因导致小耳畸形?

的小耳畸形的原因还不是很清楚, 特别是关于遗传和环境因素的作用. 遗传学被认为是只适用于一个原因 5% 所有患者. 多的理论被提出来解释的原因,小耳畸形胎儿发育过程中, 如神经嵴细胞的干扰, 血管破坏, 和海拔高度, 但这些都没有被证明.

重要的是要明白,没有一个母亲在怀孕期间, 如喝咖啡, 使用酒精, 甚至是滥用药物, 已被证明可导致耳症. 但, 在怀孕的头三个月时,, 一些药物已与小耳畸形, 包括沙利度胺和维甲酸.

小耳畸形涉及多于一个耳?

小耳症通常发生在仅在一侧 (更常用在右侧), 但有关 10% 患者有先天性小耳畸形两侧 (双侧小耳症).

小耳畸形通常被看作是一个孤立的条件, 但它也可能会出现面肌痉挛等病证,包括矮身材, Goldenhar综合征, or Treacher Collins Syndrome. Other syndromes with Microtia can also affect the kidneys, 的心脏, 的眼睛, 颅面骨, 并且骨骼系统. 这些孩子们经常关心的颅面队.

bilateral microtia hemifacial microsomia goldenhar syndrome treacher collins syndrome
双侧小耳症 面肌矮身材 Goldenhar综合征 特雷彻柯林斯综合征

我的孩子可以听到?

如果你的孩子没有正常的耳道, 耳膜及中耳的骨头, 那么他或她不会有正常的听力. 但, 小耳畸形的儿童仍然可以听到一些声音,即使他们没有耳道 (这就是所谓的外耳道闭锁), 自神经经常使用的听力正常工作. 看 听力损失


返回顶部

Microtia: What is it?

Microtia is a congenital condition in which the ear does not develop properly. The word Microtia translates to “small ear.”

Children with Microtia


What are the different types of Microtia?

Microtia occurs in many different variations, ranging from just a small ear to complete absence of the ear, called anotia meaning “no ear.”  In some cases, the ear canal is very small (aural stenosis) or absent (aural atresia).

Several systems have been developed to describe different types of microtia. One of the most common systems used to categorize these different “grades” is illustrated below:

Grades of Microtia

How Common is Microtia?

Microtia occurs about once in every 6,000 to 12,000 births, with a higher frequency among Hispanics, Asians, Native Americans, and Andeans.

What Causes Microtia?

The cause of Microtia is not well understood, particularly regarding the role of environmental and genetic factors. Genetics are thought to be a cause in only 5% of all patients. Multiple theories have been proposed to explain the cause of Microtia during fetal development, such as neural crest cells disturbance, vascular disruption, and altitude, but these have not been proven.

It is important to understand that nothing a mother does during pregnancy, such as drinking coffee, alcohol use, or even drug abuse, has been shown to cause Microtia. However, when taken in the first trimester of pregnancy, some medications have been linked to Microtia, including Thalidomide and Accutane.

Can Microtia Involve More Than One Ear?

Microtia usually occurs on only one side (more commonly on the right), but about 10% of patients have microtia on both sides (Bilateral Microtia).

Microtia is often seen as an isolated condition, but it may also occur with other syndromes including Hemifacial Microsomia, Goldenhar Syndrome, or Treacher Collins Syndrome.  Other syndromes with Microtia can also affect the kidneys, the heart, the eyes, the craniofacial bones, and the skeletal system. These children are often cared for by a Craniofacial Team.

bilateral microtia hemifacial microsomia goldenhar syndrome treacher collins syndrome
Bilateral Microtia Hemifacial Microsomia Goldenhar Syndrome Treacher Collins Syndrome

Can My Child Hear?

If your child does not have a normal ear canal, eardrum and middle ear bones, then he or she will not have normal hearing. However, children with Microtia can still hear some sounds even if they don’t have an ear canal (this is called aural atresia), since the nerve used in hearing often functions normally. See Hearing Loss


Back to Top